## SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRICAL COMMISSION

Minutes of the Electrical Commission meeting held on July 16, 2015 in Room 412 at the State Capitol, Pierre, South Dakota.

The meeting was called to order by President Steve Nielsen at 8:30 AM.

The following members were present: Steve Nielsen, Tim McIntyre, Robert Cronin, Russ Vanderwerff, and Steve Arne. Duane Mergen was present via conference call. Absent: Jesse Smith.

Others present were: JJ Linn – Executive Director and Diana Peterson – Office Secretary.

President Nielsen introduced Russ Vanderwerff to the Commission as a new member.

Motion by Cronin; Seconded by Arne to approve the minutes of January 15, 2015. Motion approved by roll call vote. Ayes: Cronin, McIntyre, Mergen, Vanderwerff, Arne, and Nielsen. Nays: None.

Inspectors report:

- Director Linn reviewed the minutes from the last inspectors meeting.
- Director Linn reported the inspectors were approved for overtime for up to 6 inspectors up to 10 hours per week.
- Director Linn reported hiring Scott Ochsner as an inspector to work in the southeast corner of the State.

## Old Business:

• Director Linn reported on the status of the database. The permit and licensee storage aspect of the database is for the most part functioning correctly. The report section is inaccurate and unacceptable.

New Business:

- President Nielsen announced nominations are now in order for the office of President. Commissioner Cronin nominated Steve Arne; Seconded by McIntyre. President Nielsen requested additional nominations. Seeing none President Nielsen declared Steve Arne elected to the position of President by acclamation. President Nielsen announced nominations are now in order for the office of Secretary/Treasurer. Commissioner Cronin nominated Tim McIntyre; Seconded by Arne. President Nielsen requested additional nominations. Seeing none President Nielsen declared Tim McIntyre elected to the position of Secretary/Treasurer by acclamation.
- Director Linn reviewed Ufer contact letter with the Commission. Commissioner Arne recommended a reference to the Toolbox on our website be added to the letter. The Commission also discussed making the letter available to Electrical Contractors to provide to the concrete contractors.
- Director Linn discussed a Rough In sticker and concluded the Rough In sticker and Final sticker document the occurrence of an inspection. Neither sticker in itself documents the completion of a portion of the installation nor does it portray the ability to move forward without confirmation from the inspector. The Commission recommended the Staff and Inspectors continue to educate installers on this area of the law.

Note: Commissioner Mergen excused himself from the meeting at 9:45 A.M. CDT.

• Director Linn presented the Commission with a strategic plan. The Commission discussed the direction of the Commission and instructed Director Linn to move forward.

## Reports

• The reports for January 2015 through June 2015 were reviewed. Motion by McIntyre; Seconded by Vanderwerff to approve the reports. Motion approved by roll call vote. Ayes: Cronin, McIntyre, Vanderwerff, Arne, and Nielsen. Nays: None.

Code Committee Report: No pending items at this time.

President's report: President Nielsen thanked everyone for having the opportunity to serve as President.

Director's report:

- Director Linn discussed 3<sup>rd</sup> Party inspections.
- Update on installers without licensure.

Upcoming meeting dates:

August 4 – 5, 2015 – NERA meeting – Santa Fe, New Mexico

Motion by McIntyre, Seconded by Arne to adjourn the meeting at 11:15 AM. Motion approved by roll call vote. Ayes: Cronin, McIntyre, Vanderwerff, Arne, and Nielsen. Nays: None.

Steve Arne, Commission Secretary