## Annual News for South Dakota Cosmetologists, Estheticians, and Nail Technicians

# CosInfo

2013

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission 500 E Capitol Ave ● Pierre SD 57501 Phone: 605/773-6193 ● Fax: 605/773-7175

email: cosmetology@state.sd.us

## **LICENSE RENEWAL**

#### PERSONAL LICENSE - \$20 Renewal Fee

Renews annually on or before your birth date.

#### SALON OR BOOTH LICENSE - \$35 Renewal Fee

Renews annually on or before anniversary of opening date.

#### PENALTY FOR LATE RENEWAL - \$20 Penalty Fee

The \$20 penalty fee is assessed for each year a license is not renewed by the expiration date shown on the license. There is no grace period if the expiration date is missed. To avoid the \$20 penalty fee, remember to have your renewal postmarked on or before the expiration date.

You may still renew any license in January or wait until the expiration date on your license(s).

You may renew your personal license and salon or booth license at the same time. In order to avoid the \$20 penalty, be sure you renew before the expiration date of whichever license expires first each year.

Some licensees have told us that they mark their appointment calendars so they remember to renew well in advance of the expiration date.

We do not currently have online renewals. We cannot take debit or credit cards. You need to mail in a personal check or money order.

### **SALONS & BOOTH RENTAL INFO**

- 1. You need to apply for a booth license if you rent space in a salon. (This means that you own your own business and are not an employee of the salon.)
- 2. Booth and salon licenses are NOT transferable. If you move your booth to a new salon, or if the salon moves, you must apply for a new salon or booth license. Your new salon or booth license must be posted in the new salon when you begin working at that location. We recommend that you send in your application and \$60 permit fee 2-3 weeks before starting work in the new location.
- 3. The application fee for a new salon or booth permit is \$60. You will be issued a temporary permit and an inspector will inspect your salon or booth within the first 90 days of opening. After your salon or booth passes inspection, you will be issued a license that you must renew each year on the anniversary of your salon or booth opening. Renewal fee is \$35.
- 4. A salon will fail its annual inspection if all licenses (including booth rental licenses) are not current. A re-inspection fee of \$50 will be imposed.
- 5. If you close your salon or booth, you are required to contact the Cosmetology Commission office to let us know.

### YOUR SCOPE OF PRACTICE

**COSMETOLOGY** includes hair (including non-permanent hair removal, waxing), nails (manicures, pedicures, and artificial nails), and esthetics services (facials, body wraps).

NAIL TECHNOLOGY includes manicures, pedicures, and artificial nails. Nail technicians CANNOT perform hair removal (waxing).

**ESTHETICS** includes any type of skin services for beautification – and includes the whole body, not just the face. Body scrubs and body wraps are allowed. All details on our website.

**Disinfectant Required At All Work Stations...**Remember, you must have disinfectant at all work stations within the salon. If you have questions, please read your Administrative Rules book or call the Commission office at 605/773-6193.

# Address Changes & Mail Services

If you have an address change, you need to write your new address in the space provided on your renewal form or include a written note. We do NOT change addresses based on the address shown on your check or envelope. Further, the post office will not forward mail unless you filed a change of address with the post office.

Recent changes in the U.S. Postal Service, mean that mail formerly delivered in one-day is now two-day delivery; two-day delivery can now take up to four days to reach its destination.

## COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION

Lois Porch, President Philip

Nora Slykhuis, Vice President Custer

Pat Clark, Secretary-Treasurer

Pierre Lori Berreth

Artas

Kim Maskell

Spearfish

#### STAFF

Kate Boyd, Executive Director
Pierre

Beth Marnell, Secretary
Pierre

Karen Dossett, Inspector Central & Northeastern Area

Noreen Johnson, Inspector Sioux Falls Area

Mary Rasmussen, Inspector Southeastern Area

Georgia Linn Western/Rapid City Area Our website address: cosmetology.sd.gov

#### LICENSE RENEWALS

July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2012 Personal Licenses - 5,793 Salon/Booth Licenses - 1,739

**July 1, 2010 - June 30, 2011**Personal Licenses - 5,744
Salon/Booth Licenses - 1,677

#### **Commission Meetings**

January 8, 2013 - Pierre May 3, 2013 - Sioux Falls July 15, 2013 - Pierre

#### Education Required for Electric Files & Microdermabrasion Machines

A licensee must have education **BEFORE** using an electric file/drill or a microdermabrasion machine.

Electric files require 8 hours of education. Microdermabrasion requires 16 hours of education.

## YOU MUST SEND IN PROOF OF YOUR EDUCATION TO THIS OFFICE and it will be printed on your license.

If the inspector sees you using these machines, and it is not certified on your license, your salon or booth will fail its inspection.

Please call the office for further information on a list of schools where you can receive this education in South Dakota.

### Things You Need To Know...

NAIL GUIDE BROCHURES - The Commission recently published two newly updated brochures regarding nail technology safety -- one for licensees and one for consumers. The brochures are available free of charge from the Commission office in Pierre.

WORK OUTSIDE LICENSED SALONS PROHIBITED - Your license is only valid in a licensed salon. Pursuant to SDCL 36-15-54, Practice Outside Licensed Salon or Booth is Prohibited. Note: working in an unlicensed home environment is prohibited. Please contact the Commission office for information on obtaining a home salon license.

## **DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS**

The following disciplinary actions have become effective since the last newsletter. (A consent agreement is an agreement between licensee and the Cosmetology Commission settling a case without proceeding to a formal hearing. Consent agreements may include suspension, safety course, additional inspections, and probation, as well as reimbursement of costs.)

**REGAL NAILS, Rapid City - Angelina Tran, Owner.** Violation - allowing an unlicensed individual to perform nail technician services in salon. Commission Order - salon license suspended for 7 days; salon manager successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Infection Control Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs of \$897.00.

VIP NAILS, Sioux Falls - Lien Hinrichs, Owner. Violation - violated 2011 Commission Order in 2012 by having illegal equipment in the salon and using a prohibited instrument to remove calluses from a customer's feet. Consent Agreement - one year suspension of Lien Hinrich's cosmetologist license suspended for one year; Lien Hinrichs will not submit an application for a salon license for one year.

# ADMINISTRATIVE RULES ADOPTION PROCESS COMPLETE

The Cosmetology Commission recently completed the process of updating our Administrative Rules. The new rules will become effective by the end of January. Copies of the Cosmetology Commission Laws and updated Administrative Rules are available from the Commission office at a cost of \$2.00 per book. Send a note and \$2.00 fee requesting a new rules book.

None of the rules changes have a fiscal impact on salon owners, licensees, or schools. The majority of the rules changes are to update and clarify general rules language, eliminate unnecessary rules, and reorganize the rules to make them more streamlined and easier to read. There are a number of rules that do include changes more substantial in nature. Those changes include:

- (1) Rule 20:42:01:01. Definitions. The purpose of these changes is to update and clarify definitions to include terms and language presently being used in textbooks and by the profession regarding safety and infection control.
- (2) Rule 20:42:04:04.03. Prohibited equipment and procedures. Added language to clarify that licensees may not use any FDA Class 3 or above mechanical or energy devices as devices above a Class 3 requires education beyond what Cosmetology Commission licensees receive in school and is more appropriately done by medical personnel.
- (3) Rule 20:42:06:01.04. Branch school exception. & Rule 20:42:06:09.03. Branch School curriculum requirement for a partial program. Set standards for branch schools. This will allow schools to open branch schools to serve smaller communities.
- (4) Rule 20:42:08:03.01: Senior instructor education exception. Added language to allow short-term substitute instructors -- those teaching no more than 80 hours per year -- to seek a waiver from the commission to not complete 1000 hours of instructor training in order to be issued a senior instructor license. This will assist schools in finding substitute teachers.
- **(5)** Rule 20:42:06:05. Approved textbooks for basic course of study. Updated the list of approved textbooks to require the use of the most up-to-date techniques recognized by the cosmetology profession.
- (6) Rule 20:42:06:06. Requirements for classroom education. Allow the option for students to attend school and receive credit for more than 8 hours per day. This has been requested by the schools to accommodate students (1) by reducing transportation costs for students who may travel in from rural areas, (2) allowing students who must work to support themselves and their families one more day per week to be available to their employer while seeking their education. or (3) lessening day care expenses for students with small children.

## **Salon & Booth Inspection Failures**

If you fail your salon or booth inspection, a \$50 re-inspection fee will be imposed.