Annual News for South Dakota Cosmetologists, Estheticians, and Nail Technicians

CosInfo

2012

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission 500 E Capitol Ave • Pierre SD 57501

Phone: 605/773-6193 • Fax: 605/773-7175

email: cosmetology@state.sd.us

LICENSE RENEWAL

PERSONAL LICENSE - \$20 Renewal Fee

Renews annually on or before your birth date.

SALON OR BOOTH LICENSE - \$35 Renewal Fee

Renews annually on or before anniversary of opening date.

PENALTY FOR LATE RENEWAL - \$20 Penalty Fee

The \$20 penalty fee is assessed for each year a license is not renewed by the expiration date shown on the license. There is no grace period if the expiration date is missed. To avoid the \$20 penalty fee, remember to have your renewal postmarked on or before the expiration date.

You may still renew any license in January or wait until the expiration date on your license(s).

You may renew your personal license and salon or booth license at the same time. In order to avoid the \$20 penalty, be sure you renew before the expiration date of whichever license expires first each year.

Some licensees have told us that they mark their appointment calendars so they remember to renew well in advance of the expiration date.

We do not currently have online renewals. We cannot take debit or credit cards. You need to either mail in a personal check or money order.

SALONS & BOOTH RENTAL INFO

- 1. You need to apply for a booth license if you rent space in a salon. (This means that you own your own business and are not an employee of the salon.)
- 2. Booth and salon licenses are not transferable. If you move your booth to a new salon, or if the salon moves, you must apply for a new salon or booth license.
- 3. The application fee for a new salon or booth permit is \$60. You will be issued a temporary permit and an inspector will inspect your salon or booth within the first 90 days of opening. After your salon or booth passes inspection, you will be issued a license that you must renew each year on the anniversary of your salon or booth opening. Renewal fee is \$35.
- 4. A salon will fail its annual inspection if all licenses (including booth rental licenses) are not current. A re-inspection fee of \$50 will be imposed.
- 5. If you close your salon or booth, you are required to contact the Cosmetology Commission office to let us know.

YOUR LICENSE - PARTS

Just a reminder. Your license is in three parts. The upper part is your receipt and card to be used for the supply store purchases. The center is your license on safety paper so it cannot be copied. The center must be posted at your station when you are working. The bottom is your renewal form for the upcoming year. You need to send in this renewal form when you renew. The required fee is on the renewal form.

Alert:

See the bottom of your renewal form for the renewal fee!

COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION

Nora Slykhuis, President Custer

Lois Porch, Vice President
Philip

Pat Clark, Secretary-Treasurer
Pierre

Lori Berreth

Artas Kory McKay

Sioux Falls

STAFF

Kate Boyd, Executive Director
Pierre

Beth Marnell, Secretary
Pierre

Karen Dossett, Inspector Central & Northeastern Area

Noreen Johnson, Inspector Sioux Falls Area

Mary Rasmussen, Inspector Southeastern Area

Georgia Linn Western/Rapid City Area

Salon & Booth Inspection Failures

If you fail your salon or booth inspection, a \$50 re-inspection fee will be imposed.

Our website address: cosmetology.sd.gov

2012 Exam Schedule

January 9-11 - Pierre
February 11 - Watertown
March 9-10 - Sioux Falls
April 20-21 - Rapid City
May 5 -Sioux Falls
June 9 - Watertown
July 16 & 17 - Pierre
September 14-15 - Sioux Falls
September 28-29 - Rapid City
November 2-3 - Sioux Falls
Nov 30 - Dec 1 - Rapid City

In addition to Pierre, for the first time in 2012, the Commission is offered cosmetology and nail technician State Board exams in Sioux Falls, Rapid City, and Watertown. All dates & locations are subject to change.

Commission Meetings

January 10, 2012 - Pierre May 4, 2012 - Sioux Falls July 16, 2012 - Pierre September 28, 2012 - Rapid City

Continuing Education Required for Electric Files & Microdermabrasion Machines

A licensee must have continuing education **BEFORE** using an electric file/drill or a microdermabrasion machine. Electric files require 8 hours of education. Microdermabrasion requires 16 hours of education.

YOU MUST SEND IN PROOF OF YOUR EDUCATION TO THIS OFFICE and it will be printed on your license.

If the inspector sees you using these machines, and it is not certified on your license, your salon or booth will fail its inspection.

Please call the office for further information on a list of schools where you can receive this education in South Dakota.

YOUR SCOPE OF PRACTICE

Do you know your scope of practice? We were surprised that many cosmetologists did not realize their cosmetology license allowed them to do esthetics (skin care).

Cosmetology includes hair (including non-permanent hair removal, waxing), nails (manicures, pedicures, and artificial nails), and esthetics services (facials, body wraps).

Nail technology includes manicures, pedicures, and artificial nails. Nail technicians CANNOT perform hair removal (waxing).

Esthetics includes any type of skin services for beautification – and includes the whole body, not just the face. All details on our website.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

The following disciplinary actions have become effective since the last newsletter. (A consent agreement is an agreement between licensee and the Cosmetology Commission settling a case without proceeding to a formal hearing. Consent agreements may include suspension, safety course, additional inspections, and probation, as well as reimbursement of costs.)

DA-VI NAILS, Spearfish - Ly Do, Owner. Violation - allowing an unlicensed individual to perform nail technician services in salon. Commission Order - 88-days suspension of salon license and Ly do's personal license, with 60 days being held in abeyance with no further violations, resulting in 28 days of actual suspension in two 14-day periods of time; Ly Do successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$1,270.

IMPRESSIVE NAILS, Rapid City - Kimanh Truong, Owner. Violation - allowing an unlicensed individual to perform nail technician services in salon. Consent Agreement - Salon and Kimanah Truong's personal license suspended for 5 days; Truong successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$400.

NAILS PLUS, Sioux Falls - Sandra Huynh, Owner. Violation - Owner performing nail technician services in salon without a South Dakota license. Commission Order - Salon license suspended for 8 days; Hoang successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$1,270.

PARIS NAILS, Rapid City - Nicole Tran, Owner, Tyler Huynh, Manager. Violation - allowing 3 unlicensed individuals to work as nail technicians in salon. Commission Order - 7-day suspension of personal license of Nicole Tran and Tyler Huynh; 7-day suspension of Paris Nails' salon license; Tran & Huynh successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$1,446.

PRO NAILS BY VU, Sioux Falls - Ahn TT Vu, Owner. Violation - allowing an unlicensed individual to work as a nail technician in salon. The unlicensed individual caused physical harm to a customer. Commission Order - Revocation of salon license.

ROSE NAILS, Vermillion - Ryan Nguyen, Owner. Violation - allowing 2 unlicensed individuals to perform nail technician services in salon. Consent Agreement - 88-days suspension of salon license and Ryan Nguyen's personal license, with 60 days being held in abeyance with no further violations, resulting in 28 days of actual suspension in two 14-day periods of time; Nguyen successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$400.

ROSE NAILS, Yankton - Ryan Nguyen, Owner. Violation - allowing 2 unlicensed individuals to perform nail technician services in salon. Consent Agreement - 88-days suspension of salon license and Ryan Nguyen's personal license, with 60 days being held in abeyance with no further violations, resulting in 28 days of actual suspension in two 14-day periods of time; Nguyen successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$400.

STAR NAILS, Huron - Cynthia Hoang, Owner. Violation - allowing an unlicensed individual to perform nail technician services in salon. Consent Agreement - Salon and Cynthia Hoang's personal license suspended for 7 days; Hoang successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$400.

VIP NAILS, Sioux Falls - Lien Hinrichs, Owner. Violation - allowing an unlicensed individual to perform nail technician services in salon. Consent Agreement - Consent Agreement - 88-days suspension of salon license and Lien Hinrichs personal license, with 60 days being held in abeyance with no further violations, resulting in 28 days of actual suspension in two 14-day periods of time; Hinrichs successfully pass State Laws/Safety & Sanitation Course and exam; additional inspections for one year; and pay costs \$400.