

Annual news for South Dakota Cosmetologists, Estheticians, and Nail Technicians

> South Dakota Cosmetology Commission 500 E Capitol Pierre SD 57501 605-773-6193 cosmetology@state.sd.us

# **RENEWALS**

Your personal license renews annually on or before your birth date. Any salon or booth license renews annually on or before its opening date.

2009

You may still renew any license in January or wait until the expiration date on your license(s). Sorry, there is no grace period if the expiration date is missed. The renewal form (located at the bottom of your current license) must be postmarked on or mailed in before the expiration date. The expiration date is in a large box on your license and renewal form. A \$20 penalty fee per year is charged for each expired license.

We do not have online renewals. We cannot take debit or credit cards. You need to either mail in a personal check or money order.

Some licensees have told us that they mark their appointment calendars so they remember to renew well in advance of the expiration date.

# **YOUR LICENSE - PARTS**

Just a reminder. Your license is in three parts. The upper part is your receipt and card to be used for the supply store purchases. The center is your license on safety paper so it cannot be copied. The center must be posted at your station when you are working. The bottom is your renewal form for the upcoming year. You need to send in this renewal form when you renew. The required fee is on the renewal form.

## NOT JUST LICE ANYMORE

Have you heard of MRSA, Superbug, Hepatitis, flesh-eating bacteria, mycobacterium fortuitum, staph infections? These are some of the new infections in the news today. And they may happen in salons if improper or no disinfection procedures are used. The Commission has developed a two-hour class that discusses proper sanitation and disinfection procedures. This class will be presented in your area free-of-charge to anyone who requests it. Just call us at 605-773-6193. Protect yourself, protect your clients – know and practice proper sanitation and disinfection.

## CONTINUING ED BEING CONSIDERED

Sorry, we hoped to send out a survey in 2008, but the costs were a consideration. The Commission is still interested in any suggestions on continuing education, so we will be sending a survey out to our licensees with each renewed license in 2009. Please take time to complete and return the survey to us. It is important to you and to us. **We want to hear from you so please return the survey!** 

# **REINSPECTION FEES BEING CONSIDERED**

A new rule allows the Commission to charge a \$50 reinspection fee. This fee has not been started as of yet. We encourage all salons and booths to comply and "pass" inspections the first timeso that the \$50 reinspection does not have to be used. The current salon fee covers the inspection, but it is very costly to reinspect a salon that has failed, and it is unfair to raise the salon fee to those who "pass" the first time. So, in the future if your salon or booth fails, that salon or booth may pay.

# Alert:

See the bottom of your renewal form for the renewal fee!

#### Cosmetology Commission

Jackie Dahlquist, President New Underwood Nora Slykhuis, Vice-President Custer Lois Porch, Sec/Treasurer Philip Pat Clark Pierre Ila Davis Mina

Our thanks to Dorothy Johnson from Parker who retired from serving on the commission since 1991. She was a dedicated, hard-working member.

#### Staff

Susan Monge, Exec Director Pierre Nina Fromm, Secretary Pierre Karen Dossett, Inspector Eastern area Noreen Johnson, Inspector Sioux Falls area Nancy LaBrie, Inspector Central area Mary Rasmussen, Inspector Southeastern area Janie Norlin, Inspector Western/Rapid City area



#### Our web page - www.cosmetology.sd.gov

# 2009 Exam Schedule and Commission Meetings

(unless otherwise noted)

January 12-14 March 9-10 May 4-5 June 29-30 September 1 October 19-20 November 9-10 August 30-31 Instructor Seminar



(subject to change)

# <u>Continuing Éd</u>

A licensee must have continuing education **BEFORE** using an electric file/drill or a microdermabrasion machine. Electric files require 8 hours of education. Microdermabrasion requires 16 hours of education. **YOU MUST SEND IN PROOF OF YOUR EDUCATION TO THIS OFFICE and it will be printed on your license.** If the inspector sees you using these machines, and it is not certified on your license, you will fail. Please call the office for further information.

Threading and Sugaring hair removal fall under our scope.

## **UPDATING RULES**

In 2009 the Commission will be reviewing the safety and sanitation rules ARSD 20:42:04 and continuing education rules ARSD 20:42:08 for updates, changes, and clarifications. The goal is to propose any changes and hold a public hearing in 2009. If you have any comments, please feel free to contact us. We value your comments.

#### IMPORTANT TIPS

- Antibacterial is not the same as disinfectant. If you don't know the difference, call or talk to your inspector.
- Pedicure bowls and whirlpools need to be cleaned (sanitized) and then DISINFECTED <u>after</u> each client.
- Hair needs to swept from the floor and disposed of before you work on another client.
- Fish pedicures are not allowed since they cannot be disinfected to protect the client
- Double-dipping in wax is not allowed even if the wax company claims it is anti-bacterial.
- Disinfectant can have a short effectiveness life. Only mix disinfectant before you are going to use it, and then dispose of it after the use. Wash the container before mixing new disinfectant.

# **DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS IN 2008**

The following disciplinary actions have become effective since the last newsletter. (A consent order is an agreement between licensees and the cosmetology commission without proceeding through a formal hearing. Consent orders may have suspension, safety course, additional inspections, and/or probation as well as costs.)

Huong Thi Pho, Sioux Falls. Violation-did not complete required education for a nail technician license. Consent order 9/29/2008–voluntary surrender of license, pay costs \$200.

Chelon Fichter, Sioux Falls. Cosmetologist. Violation-Working in a salon without a South Dakota cosmetologist license. Consent order 9/29/2008 license suspended fifteen days, suspension stayed as long as complies with regulations, probation six months, pay costs \$100.

Quy Dinh Nguyen, Sioux Falls. Violation-did not complete required education for a nail technician license; License revoked on 7/22/08.

Kim Anh Vu and Venus Nails Salon, Vermillion. Nail Technician and Nail Salon. Violation-Use of incorrect disinfection. Consent order 1/14/2008–complete safety course, additional inspections, probation for one year, pay costs \$300.

Ryan Nguyen and Rose Nails, Vermillion. Nail Technician and Nail Salon. Violation-Allowing unlicensed person to work, no disinfectant at stations, no proper sanitation of drill bits. Consent order 1/14/2008– technician license suspended five days, Salon license suspended three days, complete safety course, additional inspections, probation for one year, pay costs \$500.

Huyen Anh Thi Bui, Pierre.Nail Technician. Violation-working without a license. Consent order 11/14/2007– immediately apply for license, license suspended two days, suspension stayed, probation for one year, additional inspections, pay costs \$150.

# Our web page address has changed to: cosmetology.sd.gov