

Annual news for South Dakota Cosmetologists, Estheticians, and Nail Technicians

> South Dakota Cosmetology Commission 500 E Capitol Pierre SD 57501 605-773-6193 cosmetology@state.sd.us

FEES CHANGED FOR 2008

Renewal fees change with the 2008 renewal season. You received either a postcard in the mail or an orange insert when you renewed in 2007. The fee changes are printed on the bottom of your renewal form which is found below your license. Late fees have also increased so mark your calendars so you are not late in renewing. The new fees are: Cosmetologists \$20

2008

Cosmetologists	\$20
Nail Technicians	\$20
Estheticians	\$20
Salons and Booths renewals	\$35
Instructors	\$25
Late Fees, per license	\$20

You may still renew any license in January or wait until the expiration date on your license. Sorry, there is no grace period. The renewal form must be postmarked or sent in before the expiration date. The expiration date is in a large box on your license and renewal form. ***Some licensees have told us that they mark their appointment calendars so they remember to renew well in advance of the expiration date.

OTHER CHANGES

The manager title was dropped. Licensees still need a personal license such as cosmetologist, nail technician, or esthetician. Requirements for an instructor license were upgraded. The new laws and rules went into effect on July 1, 2007. For further details either see our web page or call the office. A current laws/rules book may be purchased for \$1.75 or see the laws/rules on the web page.

PROTECTING THE PUBLIC AND YOU - NEW INSPECTIONS REPORTS SUCCESSFUL

The new inspection reports started on January 1, 2007. The reports were well received since they are shorter, more concise, and easier to read/understand. And only one report is done for the whole salon. The salon owner is responsible to discuss any non-compliance issues with each of her employees. The owner will be responsible to make sure the salon and all who work there are in compliance. And, remember, each booth owner is responsible for their booth.

Especially important is that you take time out from your busy schedule (yes, we know we know you are busy) and <u>discuss the report</u> <u>before the inspector leaves your salon</u>. If there are any problems, you will have up to two weeks to make corrections before the inspector returns. If you have questions, please call us.

CONTINUING ED BEING CONSIDERED

Over the years the Commission has heard from individual licensees that some sort of continuing education needs to be required. The Commission is interested in any suggestions on continuing education, so we will be sending a survey out to our licensees in late 2008. Please take time to complete and return the survey to us. It is important. **We want to hear from you!**

्रीट्रिक्ट When WAXING DO NOT Doubledip the sticks.

Cosmetology Commission

Jackie Dahlquist, President New Underwood Ila Davis, Vice-President Mina Lois Porch, Sec/Treasurer Philip Dorothy Johnson Parker Nora Slykhuis Custer

Staff

Susan Monge, Exec Director Pierre Nina Fromm, Secretary Pierre Karen Dossett, Inspector Eastern area Noreen Johnson, Inspector Sioux Falls area Nancy LaBrie, Inspector North Central area Mary Rasmussen, Inspector Southeastern area Cathy Steen, Inspector Rapid City area



Our web page – www.state.sd.us/dol/boards/cos

Exam Schedule and Commission Meetings (unless otherwise noted)

January 14-16 March 17-18 May 5-6 July 21-22 September 28-29 Instructor Seminar September 29-30 November 17-18



INSPECTOR.

Roetires

Jan Kilber, inspector for the Central area of South Dakota, retired in December 2007 after 17 years with the Commission. She will be missed by many of us. Thank you, Jan, for doing an outstanding job for the Commission and the protection of the public! All the best for your retirement.

UPDATING RULES

In 2008 the Commission will be reviewing the safety and sanitation rules ARSD 20:42:04 and continuing education rules ARSD 20:42:08 for updates, changes, and clarifications. The goal is to propose any changes and hold public hearings in 2009.

If you have any comments, please feel free to contact us. We value your comments.

IMPORTANT TIPS

- Most sprayed disinfectant needs to stay on the tool at least 10 minutes and then wiped off.
- Sanitized means cleaned.
- Cleaned means removing debris first and then washing with soapy, warm water.
- Disinfection means to use a disinfectant.
- A disinfectant must be bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal and EPA approved for its intended use. (immerse at least 10 min.)
- After disinfected, store in cleaned closed container until use.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS IN 2007

The following disciplinary actions have become effective since the last newsletter. (A consent order is a settlement agreement between licensees and the cosmetology commission without proceeding through a formal hearing. Consent orders may have suspension, safety course, additional inspections, and/or probation as well as costs.)

Dinh Linda Tuyet, Rapid City. Violation-working without a nail technician license; violating a consent order. Hearing. Pay costs \$1,277.

Sang Tran and Regal Nails Salon, Rapid City. Violation-allowing unlicensed person to work in salon; violating a consent order. Hearing, licenses revoked. Pay costs \$1,277.

Melissa Cook, Sioux Falls. Violation-teaching without an instructor license. Consent order-probation. Pay costs \$100.

Black Hills Beauty College Branch, Sioux Falls. Violationunlicensed instructors and unapproved field trip. Settlement agreement – Pay costs \$500.

Kim Miller, Sioux Falls. Violation-teaching without an instructor license. Consent order-probation. Pay costs \$100.

Matthew Fiegen and M&M Fiegen, LLC, DBA Stewart School. Violation-registering fictitious business name. Consent order. Pay costs \$300.

LaPete Hicks, Sioux Falls. Violation-working in a salon with a student license. Consent order-suspension/stayed, probation. Pay costs \$50.

VIP Nails and Lien Hinrichs, Sioux Falls. Violation-unlicensed apprentices, callus shavers. Consent order- suspension, course, inspections, probation. Pay costs \$500.

Colorful Nails, Pierre. Violation-unlicensed workers, no continuing ed for electric files. Consent order-suspension/stayed, course, electric file course, probation, inspections. Pay costs \$500.

Thao Xuan Doan, Pierre. Violation-allowing unlicensed workers in salon, no continuing ed for electric files. Consent order-suspension, course, electric file course, probation, inspections. Pay costs \$500.

Pro Nails by Vu and Anh TT Vu, Sioux Falls. Violation- callus shavers. Consent order-suspension/stayed, probation inspections. Pay costs \$350.

Binh Nguyen and Sun Nails, Sioux Falls. Violation-unlicensed workers, unclean tools, unclean pedicure station, unlabeled products, no continuing ed for electric files. Consent order- suspension, course, probation, inspections. Pay costs \$400.

CALLUS (RAZOR TYPE) SHAVER TOOLS CANNOT BE USED IN SOUTH DAKOTA.