SOUTH DAKOTA COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION
Minutes
May 6, 2008

The regular meeting of the Cosmetology Commission was called to order by President Jacquelyn
Dahlquist on Tuesday, May 6, 2008, at 8:03 a.m. in the Cosmetology office, Pierre, South Dakota.

Roll call was taken by Secretary/Treasurer Lois Porch, with the following members present: Pat Clark,
Jacquelyn Dahlquist, lla Davis, Lois Porch, and Nora Slykhuis. Staff present: Susan Monge, Executive
Director. Others present: Todd Kolden, Department of Labor; Margo Northrup, Riter Rogers Law Firm,
Pierre; Matt Fiegen, Stewart School, Sioux Falls; and Steve Blair, Attorney General’s office, Pierre.

Minutes
A MOTION WAS MADE by Nora Slykhuis, seconded by lla Davis, to accept the minutes of March 17,
2008. The motion passed.

Treasurer's Report
Lois Porch reported that as of 4/30/2008 the available budget was $30,455.43, and the cash center
balance of $54,291.67.

A MOTION WAS MADE by lla Davis, seconded by Lois Porch, to approve the Treasurer's report. The
motion passed.

New Commissioner
Monge introduced Pat Clark as the newly appointed public member. Clark replaces Dorothy Johnson on
the Commission.

Executive Director’s Report
Susan Monge reported on numerous issues (attachment #1.)

A MOTION WAS MADE by Lois Porch, seconded by Pat Clark, to send Nora Slykhuis to attend the
microdermabrasion class held by Stewart School on June 29-30, 2008. The motion passed.

Dahlquist, Slykhuis, and Inspector Steen will review the information submitted for the proposed
Headlines Academy esthetics program.

Dabhlquist, Slykhuis, and Inspector Steen will review the information submitted for the proposed new
school in Sturgis, South Dakota.

Kolden will check to see if the SD Bureau of Personnel has the Board member class available.
The Education Committee will review the electric nail file classes in the schools.

The Commission requested that Matt Fiegen submit a proposal on including a Barber School at their
cosmetology school in Sioux Falls.

Disciplinary Actions
None at this time.

Old Business
Branch and Satellite Schools Possible Law Change
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A MOTION WAS MADE by Lois Porch, seconded by Ila Davis, to go into executive session to confer
with legal counsel. The motion passed.

A MOTION WAS MADE by lla Davis, seconded by Lois Porch, to come out of executive session. The
motion passed.

A MOTION WAS MADE by lla Davis, seconded by Lois Porch, to draft proposed legislation to change
the statute and direct legal counsel to draft a memorandum of understanding between the Commission
and Stewart School. The motion passed.

Scope of License Handout with Massage Therapy Board

The Commission had an informal luncheon meeting with the Massage Therapy board on May 5, 2008. It
was a general “get-to-know-each other” meeting and to discuss scope of practice views especially
towards “skin care treatments”. The Commission requested that the directors discuss mailing out the
scope of practice handout to the licensees.

Senior Instructor license experience and Apprentice Instructor license requirements

Monge stated there were two problems to address for the senior instructor license. Currently a person
needs to attend cosmetology school in order to earn the 1,000 instructor education. Some licensees
cannot attend a school to earn this education. There are other sources for this education, and the
Commission needs to recognize these other sources. In addition, the Commission may allow the
substitution of experience in lieu of education hours.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Nora Slykhuis, seconded by Ila Davis, to adopt the following policy (see
attachment #2) regarding work experience in lieu of education hours and alternative educational sources.
The motion passed.

Emergency Senior Instructor License
The Commission stated that they will review any emergency senior instructor license requests on a case-
by-case basis. The school and applicant need to submit the request together.

New Business

NIC Region 3 & 4 report

Dahlquist and Monge reported that they attended the meeting and presented our Protection Class
PowerPoint that we use in disciplinary actions. Other areas covered were two-tier esthetics licensing,
laser hair removal, new infections, reciprocity/endorsement between states, the “Cut It Out” Program
used in salons, and distant learning through Milady.

Updates on NIC Examiner Training and Possible Changes

The NIC examiner training was held on April 13-14 in Pierre. Dahlquist, Porch, Slykhuis, Dossett, and
LaBrie attended the training and were certified. All areas of the NIC cosmetology practical test and the
NIC instructor practical test were discussed.

A MOTION WAS MADE by Lois Porch, seconded by Pat Clark, to replace the manicure section on the
cosmetology practical test with the sculptured nail section starting after January 1, 2009. The motion
passed.
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Next Meeting and State Boards
The next meeting is scheduled for July 21-22, 2008.

Adjournment
A MOTION WAS MADE by Nora Slykhuis, seconded by Ila Davis, to adjourn. The motion passed. The

meeting adjourned at 12:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Susan Monge, Recording Secretary and  Lois Porch, Secretary/Treasurer

Attest:

Jackie Dahlquist, President [la Davis, Vice-President

Pat Clark, Member Nora Slykhuis, Member
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EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR’S REPORT — May 6, 2008 ATTACHMENT 1

1. Pat Clark of Pierre has been appointed by Governor Rounds to replace Dorothy Johnson as

one of the public members. Her term is for three years.

We may not need a June testing date. We currently have 11 scheduled. It is very difficult to
predict how many more will complete school by the June date. The next scheduled date is
July 21.

Stewart School is offering a two-day microdermabrasion class on June 29-30. | recommend
we send at least one commissioner to the class to be certified. The cost of the class is $400
and there would be travel/hotel/meals costs.

Headlines Academy is in the process of planning an esthetics program for their school. They
are planning to start the program at the end of October. They are hoping that the
commission will do the review and inspection of the new program in September. A tentative
program schedule has been submitted.

Desaree Crouch has notified this office that she plans to start a cosmetology school in
Sturgis. She is looking to open Fall 2008. She has submitted the draft of her catalog, but |
have not seen the school license application. | did tell her to start organizing now since the
Commission would take at least two months to approve the application.

| have asked the schools to submit their renewal applications approximately two months
before their renewal deadline. We originally set it at one month. The two months will give me
a chance to carefully review their renewal applications and get any questions answered
before the deadline.

| still do not have a date for when Larry Walthers will be attending our State Boards to review
our security procedures. It will probably be an unannounced visit.

CLEAR has an online Board Member training class. | am recommending that each of our
board members take the class if possible. The cost will be discounted to $60 for each
member.

| have received some verbal comments from salon owners that newly completed students
have only had the theory education for electric files and not hands-on education yet they are
being certified in electric file use. | have contacted the schools involved and discussed this
with them. Perhaps this is a review that the Education Committee wishes to do of every
school.

10. Matt Fiegen of Stewart School has emailed me that they are considering starting a Barber

School. He asked if they could have the Barber School at their main school location.
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Attachment #2
Work Experience Credit or Alternate Educational courses for a Senior Instructor License

In order to accommodate those that cannot attend a traditional cosmetology school to earn their
senior instructor license the following policy has been adopted.

A combination of any of these areas will be accepted. However, the applicant needs to
submit a proposed education plan to the Commission for approval with their
application. The license will not be issued until 1,000 hours are earned either through
experience or education.

The following work experience will be recognized in lieu of educational courses.
3-5 years = 500 hours
6-10 years = 600 hours
11-14 years = 700 hours
15 or more years = 800 hours
The work experience needs to be documented and submitted with the senior instructor license
application. This work experience will also be recognized for those who plan to attend a
school to gain the instructor education. Not recognized is experience as a product
representative.

The following alternative instructor education courses will be recognized.

1. Distance education courses. All Milady faculty online courses have been pre-approved with
30 hours (1 credit) earned for each online course completed. Other online courses from
colleges or universities may be pre-approved by the Commission if an applicant submits
detailed information on the online course. Certificates or hours/credits earned will be
submitted to the office as documentation.

2. Independent learning courses. Pre-approved are Pivot Point Master Educator textbook and
workbook and Milady Master Education textbook and workbook. Each chapter completed
with accompanying workbook will earn 5 hours. No more than 75 hours may be earned this
way. Workbooks will be turned into the Commission as documentation. Other courses from
colleges or universities may be pre-approved by the Commission if an applicant submits
detailed information on the online course.

3. Experience with a mentor will earn 1 hour for each hour in the mentor’s classroom with a
minimum of 4 hours and no more than 50 hours earned. The mentor will need to document
the hours and submit the documentation to the Commission. (A mentor is either a licensed
cosmetology instructor or a licensed teacher.)

Testing
The NIC Instructor theory and practical will need to be taken and passed after completing the
1,000 hours. There will be an $80 fee for the testing.



