Marcia Hultman

Cabinet Secretary

Font Size: A A A
South Dakota Cosmetology Commission - Menu

South Dakota Cosmetology Commission

Licensing Requirements

Cosmetologist License

Nail Technician License

Esthetician License

Instructor Licenses (Junior/Senior)

Manager's License (discontinued)

Salon/Booth Licenses (including home salons)

Certification of Licensure (Proof)

License Replacement or Duplicate

Cosmetologist License

For hair, nail and skin services, as established by South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 36-15-2

  • Complete 2100 hours of cosmetology education, as shown by transcript from a South Dakota school. Out-of-state students must provide certification from their state board (using the Out-of-state Student Affidavit for Certification Form available from our Forms page), not their school.
  • Be 18 years or older, as shown by copy of birth certificate, certificate of naturalization, U.S. governmental photo ID or U.S. passport.
  • Provide evidence of high school or GED® completion.
  • Submit the completed Exam and Temporary License Application Form (available from our Forms page) to Cosmetology Commission.
  • Pay $80 examination fee, which includes the first license.
  • Pass three examinations: NIC national written, NIC national practical and South Dakota state laws/rules.
  • Pay annual renewal fee.

 

back to top

Nail Technician License

For nail services only, as established by SDCL 36-15-17.2

  • Complete 400 hours of nail technology education, as shown by transcript from a South Dakota school. Out-of-state students must provide certification from their state board (using the Out-of-state Student Affidavit for Certification Form available from our Forms page), not their school.
  • Be 18 years or older, as shown by copy of birth certificate, certificate of naturalization, U.S. governmental photo ID,or U.S. passport.
  • Provide evidence of high school or GED® completion.
  • Submit the completed Exam and Temporary License Application Form (available from our Forms page) to the Cosmetology Commission.
  • Pay $80 examination fee, which includes the first license.
  • Pass three examinations: NIC national written, NIC national practical and South Dakota state laws/rules.
  • Pay annual renewal fee.

 

Esthetician License

Skin services only, as established in SDCL 36-15-2.2

  • Complete 600 hours of esthetics education, as shown by transcript from a South Dakota school. Out-of-state students must provide certification from their state board (using the Out-of-state Student Affidavit for Certification Form available from our Forms page), not their school.
  • Be 18 years or older, as shown by copy of birth certificate, certificate of naturalization, U.S. governmental photo ID or U.S. passport.
  • Provide evidence of high school or GED® completion.
  • Submit the completed Exam and Temporary License Application Form (available from our Forms page) to Cosmetology Commission.
  • Pay $80 examination fee, which includes the first license.
  • Pass three examinations: NIC national written, NIC national practical and South Dakota state laws/rules.
  • Pay annual renewal fee.

You may also find Esthetics handout (Adobe PDF format) helpful.

back to top

Instructor License (Junior or Senior)

Cosmetologist instructors can teach hair, nails and skin. Nail technology instructors can teach only nail technology. Esthetics instructors can teach only esthetics.

Junior Instructor License (first license)

  • Possess either a cosmetologist, nail technician or esthetician license.
  • Complete at least 1,000 hours of salon experience.
  • Complete a 12 clock-hour pre-approved instructor education course.
  • Pass the South Dakota Instructor Laws/Rules written test.
  • Enroll in a 1,000 clock-hour instructor education program.
  • Submit the Instructor License Application Form (available from our Forms page) with initial fee.
  • Follow the Instructions (Adobe PDF format) for obtaining an instructor's license.
  • Pay annual renewal fee.

 

Senior Instructor License

  • Possess either a cosmetologist, nail technician or esthetician license.
  • Complete at least 1,000 hours of salon experience.
  • Complete a 1,000 clock-hour approved instructor education program.
  • Pass the South Dakota Instructor Laws/Rules written test.
  • Submit the Instructor License Application Form (available from our Forms page) with initial fee.
  • Follow the Instructions (Adobe PDF format) for obtaining an instructor's license.
  • Pay annual renewal fee.
  • Attend the Commission's Instructor Seminar or complete a 12 clock-hour pre-approved instructor education course (for renewal).

back to top

Manager's License

The Manager's License was discontinued July 1, 2007. All those who possessed a manager license will now have "Cosmetologist," "Nail Technician" or "Esthetician" on their license, as applicable.

Salon/Booth Licenses

If you are opening a new cosmetology, esthetics or nail salon or booth, you must apply for your first license, which is a 90-day permit. The fee is $60. Your salon/booth will be inspected during the 90-day period.

If the inspection is passed, we will issue a license that will expire annually on the business opening date. If the inspection is failed, you must set up a recheck inspection before the 90-day permit expires.

You may not open for business before the salon/booth permit license is received and posted. Once your salon/booth is licensed, it must pass a yearly inspection and you must pay an annual renewal fee.

A booth license is for an individual acting as an independent contractor, renting space in a salon. See our General Guidelines for the Booth Rental License page.

Setting up a salon in your home requires a salon license. You must follow all salon rules and regulations. In addition, your home salon must have a separate entrance from outside and be completely separated from your living quarters. You should check your local city/county ordinances as well. See the Home Salon Requirements (Adobe PDF format) for more information.

All salon and booth licenses are valid for the original owner(s) and original physical address only. If you move your physical address or the salon changes ownership, a new license is required.

Use the Salon/Booth Permit License Application (available from our Forms page) to apply for a new salon/booth permit.

back to top

Certification or Endorsement of Licensure (Proof)

To prove to another state that you hold a valid South Dakota license, you may request a certificate with the state seal showing hours and licensing for a $20 fee. Please send either a check or money order (made payable to "State Cosmetology Commission"), your current name, student record name and your address. We will send the certificate directly to the other state, unless that state's form indicates otherwise.

License Replacement or Duplicate

If you have lost your copy of your license or need a duplicate to post at a different salon, notify the Commission. The cost of the replacement or duplicate is $5.

back to top