SOUTH DAKOTA COSMETOLOGY COMMISSION
500 E Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501

INSTRUCTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

Mail this completed application and a $25 license fee (non-refundable) to the above address.

Applying for (check one): Junior Instructor License Senior Instructor License
Have you had an instructor license in South Dakota before? YES NO

Please print all information

1. PERSONAL INFORMATION.

Name: Telephone Number:

Address: City: State: Zip:

SD (Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician) License number:

Social Security Number: Birth Date:

Have you ever been convicted of, plead guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or any state or federal crime relating to
narcotic drugs? Yes No. If answered “yes” explain on a separate sheet giving date, place and full particulars
and attach as part of this application.

2. SALON EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT (needs to be at least 1,000 clock hours for either junior or senior)

Name of Salon:

Salon Owner Name: Telephone number:

Beginning Date of Employment: Ending date:

Total number of clock hours work experience:

3. 12-CLOCK HOURS COURSE needed for a Junior License (attach copy of certificate)

Name of course:

Company providing the course: Date completed:

4. SOUTH DAKOTA INSTRUCTOR STATE LAWS/RULES TEST (must complete for either junior or senior)

Upon receipt of your Instructor application, the Cosmetology Commission will contact you to set up a date/time/location
for you to take the Instructor State Laws/Rules Test or the full Instructor State Board Examinations, if required.

5. INSTRUCTOR EDUCATION PROGRAM (if newly enrolled, attach letter from a school. If from another state,
attach a copy of instructor license and request a certification of instructor license from previous state.

Name of School:

School Owner or Director:

City/State:

If applying for a Junior Instructor license, list the Senior Instructor in charge:

COMPLETE THE REVERSE SIDE BEFORE SUBMITTING 6/1/16




6. STATEMENT
I hereby make application for an instructor license to teach in a South Dakota cosmetology school. | declare and
affirm under the penalties of perjury that this application has been examined by me, and to the best of my knowledge and
belief if, in all things, true and correct.
If granted an instructor license, | promise to abide by all the laws of the state of South Dakota governing
instructors and cosmetology in South Dakota. If | am granted a junior instructor license, | understand that if |
discontinue the junior instructor education program, | will immediately contact the Commission office.

Signature of Applicant:

Dated:

7. ATTACHMENTS
Make sure you have attached the following, if necessary:

$25 fee (personal check or money order)

Documentation showing completion of 12 clock hour course

If work credit is from more than one salon, attach the information.

Letter from school if enrolled in an instructor education program

Certification of instructor license from out-of-state board (Certification from the state where you
were previously licensed as an instructor must be sent directly to our office from the other state.)

arOdE

COMPLETE THE REVERSE SIDE BEFORE SUBMITTING 6/1/16




