- Home to DLR
- Home to Cosmetology Commission
- Commission Information
- Consumer Information
- Licensing Requirements
- Moving? Let us know!
- Blood Exposure Regulations
- Posting Requirements
- Resources for Licensees
- South Dakota Laws & Rules
- Useful Links
- Contact Us
- Other Boards & Commissions
South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
South Dakota requires 2100 hours of education for cosmetologists, 600 hours for estheticians and 400 hours for nail technicians. The basic education requirements for various licenses are listed in Licensing.
Electric drills/files may not be used and microdermabrasion may not be performed without continuing education.
Check the list of approved Continuing Education Providers (Adobe PDF format). To become an approved continuing education provider, use the Continuing Education Provider's Application (Adobe PDF format).
A review course is required if your license has been expired more than five years. Contact a cosmetology school or the Commission if you need the course. We offer a review course taught by the cosmetology inspector in your area. The course costs $50.