Department of Labor and Regulation

Title - South Dakota Electrical Commission

Homeowner Wiring

Homeowner Permit Application

20:44:14:01(12) defines an "owner's exemption" as an exemption from licensure requirements in South Dakota Codified Law (SDCL) 36-16-13 for an individual owner who is personally installing electrical wiring and fixtures in a residence or farmstead which is owned and resided in or on by the person installing the electrical wiring or fixtures;

Homeowners are not required to be licensed to wire their own residence or farmstead which meet the requirements of 20:44:14:01; however, a wiring permit is required.  You may purchase a wiring permit from the South Dakota Electrical Commission.  (Note:  Homeowners are not allowed to wire commercial or rental property with a Homeowner's permit.  Homeowners of a mobile home or modular home are not allowed to wire these structures. These properties must be wired by a licensed South Dakota electrical contractor.)

To obtain a Homeowner's Wiring Permit, mail a check for $60.00 [$10.00 permit fee with $50.00 minimum inspection fee] (made payable to the South Dakota Electrical Commission) and submit with the Homeowner Permit Application.

South Dakota Electrical Commission
308 S. Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501

The Commission will mail you a homeowner’s packet when we receive your payment which includes:

Please contact your State Electrical Inspector for inspections two times during your project:

Rough-in - This is when you have all of the boxes mounted, all wires are installed to all of the boxes and properly stapled, supported and exposed for inspection. (No insulation, drywall or other material covering the wiring).

Final Inspection - Everything should be complete at this time. All light fixtures, receptacles, switches, cover plates and other equipment such as water heaters, furnaces and other fixed in place equipment should be installed and energized.

When nearing the rough-in or final inspection, call your inspector to set up a time for your inspection. It is also very important to finalize the permit process, so PLEASE make sure you have a final inspection. There is no law requiring a "Green (final) Sticker," yet many home inspectors are noting the lack of "Green (final) Stickers" during home sale transactions.

For more information, call 800.233.7765 or 605.773.3573.


Marcia Hultman, Secretary
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Tel. 605.773.3101
Fax. 605.773.6184