South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

217 West Missouri Avenue, Pierre SD 57501 Phone: 605.773.3803 | Email: barber@state.sd.us | drl.sd.gov/barber

TRANSFER APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO PRACTICE BARBERING IN SOUTH DAKOTA

PRINT CLEARLY. The applicant is <u>required</u> to answer all the following questions. Read and follow the directions on the checklist (see second page). \$225.00 FEE made payable to South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners IS NON-REFUNDABLE. Money Order, Cashier's Check or Personal Check Acceptable – Do not send cash through the mail.

| 1. PERSONAL INFORMATION: | | | | |
|---|--|--------------------|-----------------|-------------------|
| Name: | Social Security Number: | | | |
| Address: | City: | | State: | _ Zip: |
| Telephone: (home) | (Cell) | Date of | Birth: | |
| Email Address (if you have one): | | | | |
| 2. CURRENT AND PRIOR LICENSING: (must have a You must request a certification of licensure from license is NOT a certification. | | | | |
| Current Valid License Number: | in the St | ate of: I | Expiration Da | ate: |
| List any other states/country that you ho | old license(s) OR have | held a license: | | |
| Have you ever had your license(s) susper | nded or revoked? Yes | No If yes, w | vhy: | |
| Are you or your spouse an active member | er of the armed forces | ? Yes No | | |
| Have you ever been convicted of, plead to narcotic drugs? Yes No. If ar particulars and attach it as part of this apart of this apart of the state board (s) showing testing information. | nswered "yes", explain pplication. heory and state hands-o | on a separate shee | et giving date | , place, and full |
| 4. EDUCATION: (Education: 1500 Hours OR a comb | ination with work credit) | | | |
| Barber College Attended: | | City: | | State: |
| Date Started at School: Col | mpletion Date: | Total Hou | urs Completed | l: |
| Were any education hours earned in a foreig | gn country? Yes | No (If yes, addit | tional rules ap | ply. |
| 5. WORK EXPERIENCE: (complete and attach th Applicants may receive 50 hours of work expeducation hours were less than 1500 hours. | | • | - | |
| I declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that this information has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief, is, in all things true and correct. If granted a certificate to practice BARBERING in the State of South Dakota, I promise to abide by all the laws of the State of South Dakota governing these practices. | | | | |
| Signature of Applicant: | | Dated: | | |

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation

BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

217 West Missouri Avenue, Pierre SD 57501 Phone: 605.773.3803 | Email: barber@state.sd.us | drl.sd.gov/barber

CHECKLIST TO COMPLETE THE TRANSFER APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

You must submit the following for transfer of a barber license from a different state to South Dakota. All documentation must be submitted in English only. Incomplete submissions are held for only three months. Fees are non-refundable.

- 1. **RECIPROCITY APPLICATION** Complete all areas and sign. **Attach** the following:
 - a. Copy of birth certificate, naturalization certificate, permanent resident card, US passport or driver's license
 - b. Current photograph or copy of photo ID. (must be a clear photo)
 - c. \$225.00 Fee (check or money order)
- 2. CURRENT AND PRIOR LICENSING. A current license from another state or country is required to transfer a license to South Dakota and is proven by a certification from a state or government barber board. A certification of current licensure(s) and certification(s) from any other state(s) where you have or had a license must be mailed directly from that State Board or Country licensing agency to the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners.

IMPORTANT CERTIFICATIONS can take time to obtain so call and get this process started immediately.

Please note a copy of your license is NOT a certification.

- **3. TESTING** South Dakota administers the NIC Barber Styling Theory examination and South Dakota developed practical examination. If you have taken State Board examinations in another state, you are not required to retest in South Dakota.
- **4. EDUCATION**: 1500 hours required. If any of your schooling was in a foreign country, you will need to have the hours evaluated by a professional evaluation company (contact the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners for more information). Additionally, if you transferred credits from one educational institution to another, you must disclose this information on your application. If you do not meet the education requirements, please refer to the instructions below for submitting work experience.
- **5. WORK EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT.** If you do not have the education as required above in #4, then you may add work experience to your education. Applicants are given credit for 50 educational hours for each month the applicant has practiced as a licensed barber in another state whose hours are less then the 1500 hours required by South Dakota.

YOU CANNOT WORK IN SOUTH DAKOTA UNTIL YOU ARE ISSUED AND RECEIVE A SOUTH DAKOTA BARBER LICENSE